Karen's Blog

Deepen Your Relationship with Money in April!

In our upcoming teleclasses, you will go deeper into identifying self-defeating money behaviors (your eyes will be opened!), and the path to healing them. You will also learn how to process your personal money history that gave you your unique money beliefs. And, we will teach you the key to permanently breaking the debt cycle. Really. We are offering two options. The first is to register for each class individually: 1. Tuesday April 12, 4-6 pm PT, 6 - 8 pm CT, 7 -9 pm ET: Save Your Way Out of Debt: The Secret of Financial Recovery REGISTER HERE 2. Tuesday, April 19, 4-6 pm PT, 6 - 8 pm CT, 7 -9 pm ET: The Progressive Nature of Money Disorders and Financial Recovery REGISTER HERE 3. Tuesday, April 26, 4-6 pm PT, 6 - 8 pm CT, 7 -9 pm ET: Writing Your Own Money Autobiography. REGISTER HERE Or...you can register for all 3 teleclas...Continue Reading

Join our FREE Teleclass: The Money-Life Drain: How To Break Free of the Behaviors That Drain You Dry

It’s time to heal your relationship to money, forever! You CAN do this. We will help you start the journey. Karen McCall and Mikelann Valterra will be teaching a free teleclass that explores how people get stuck in the same old money trouble, over and over again-what I call the Money/Life Drain, a vicious cycle that erodes not only our financial lives but the emotional, social and spiritual qualities we want out of life, too. But don't worry - you'll also learn the fail-safe steps for getting out of the Money/Life Drain. This class is for anyone who is interested in the psychological and emotional aspects of Money. Please REGISTER HERE for our “Break Free of the Behaviors that Drain You Dry” class for no fee to be held on Tuesday, April 5, 5 pm PT, 7 pm CT, 8 pm ET. You will be e-mailed the telebridge and webinar number. For...Continue Reading

What is the Difference between a Need and a Want?

I’ve always told my clients that using a spending plan will highlight the ways you are- and aren’t—taking care of yourself. It’s not just about the numbers—and it’s certainly not about “budgeting.” Having a plan not only helps you evaluate how many of your needs are really being met; it’s also an important tool for exploring what your needs really are. This is easier said than done, isn’t it? The National Council for Economic Education tells us that by the fourth grade, a child should be able to describe the difference between needs and wants, but the truth is that for many people—long after fourth grade—they aren’t able to make this important distinction. What they do instead is rationalize. In fact, most of us are masters when it comes to justifying our expenditures. For example, you might feel you “need...Continue Reading

Mikelann's Crystal Ball

Below is a post my colleague Mikelann Valterra wrote about her annual planning process. It's a fun post that shows you how even long-time money coaches like Mikelann definitely practice what they preach! And this is a great time of year to think about the big picture of 2011…. having a "crystal ball" really helps. "I’ve been looking forward to a certain Saturday morning in late December for a while. Why? Because I want to know if I can put new windows on my house this year. And I want to know if I can afford some extra landscaping help before my backyard turns into a wildlife preserve. (That’s just not my style.) Oh- and I want a lot more clothes this year. And maybe more of those three day weekends, where I actually leave the city. And I think I need more of this and I want more of that… So a couple of Saturdays ago, I finally...Continue Reading